University of Oldenburg

Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg

The university traces its roots back to 1793, when Duke Peter Friedrich Ludwig of Oldenburg created the first training college for teachers. The University of Oldenburg was eventually founded in 1973 and named after Peace Nobel Laureate Carl von Ossietzky in 1991.

Today 182 Professors and 1036 research assistants teach 12019 students in Educational and Social Sciences, in Computing Science, Business Administration, Economics and Law, in Linguistics and Cultural Studies, in Humanities and Social Sciences, and in Mathematics and Science.

Computing science in Oldenburg was established in 1985. Currently, the Department of Computing Science incorporates 18 professors doing research in three main subjects on networked information systems, on safety critical and embedded systems and on energy efficency in information and communication technology.